Riders: Maxime Renaux, Romain Febvre, Tom Vialle

Team Manager: Gautier Paulin



The FIM Motocross of Nations is an annual event that is capable of stirring emotions like no other with its rich and illustrious history extending all the way back to 1947 and an honour roll of riders who have represented their country that reads like a who is who of the sport’s greatest legends.

In 2023 it was Team USA who were the defending champions having won the coveted Chamberlain Trophy on home soil at RedBud twelve months earlier, although their super-talented trio of riders faced a huge challenge against thirty-six other nations from five different continents.

Competing on home soil at the spectacular Ernée circuit, the French trio of Tom Vialle – KTM, Romain Febvre – Kawasaki and Maxime Renaux – Yamaha raced to an extremely popular victory – the seventh in total and the sixth in the space of ten years for the proud Motocross-loving nation – in front of tens of thousands of passionate fans who made sure that the atmosphere was electric.

Overseen by Team Manager Gautier Paulin who won the FIM Motocross of Nations with France on five consecutive occasions from 2014 to 2018, the French faced very strong opposition from countries including Australia, Italy, Spain and the USA, but the home heroes got off to a flying start when Febvre – the 2015 MXGP World Champion – raced to victory in the opening moto that combined MXGP and MX2.

Renaux and Vialle then hammered home their advantage in the second moto for MX2 and MX Open machines when, roared on by their passionate fans, they crossed the line in first and second and a third for Renaux and a seventh for Febvre in the deciding moto that mixed MXGP with MX Open put the seal on a famous day of racing as La Marseillaise echoed around the valley.


FIM Motocross of Nations Champions: 2001, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2023 

Past Editions

2018  2017



The world’s biggest, oldest and most famous one-day team motorsport race landed on American soil for the first time since 2010 as the 72nd edition of the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations bulged the fences at RedBud and the roars of 81,000 fans bounced off the low grey cloud in Michigan, as Team France hoisted the Chamberlain trophy for the fifth year in a row.

While each fan and nation had their favourites for the win it was one of the most competitive and deeply talented MXoN fields ever. With pride on the line and patriotism in their hearts 30 teams entered the competition but the field was narrowed to 20 for the final day, with 19 qualifiers and the winners of the B-Final, which proved to be the popular, all-star fund-raising Team Puerto Rico line-up of Travis Pastrana, Kevin Windham, and Ryan Sipes.

However, it was the more established nations that showed their quality and experience on race day, with FIM MXoN veteran Gautier Paulin leading Dylan Ferrandis and Jordi Tixier as France claimed overall victory by just two points over the Italian team of Antonio Cairoli, Michele Cervellin, and Alessandro Lupino.

The home crowd were hungry for Team USA success and a first win since 2011 but the trio of Eli Tomac, Justin Barcia and Aaron Plessinger had neither the starts nor the pace to shut down the European threat as the Netherlands - led by the outstanding Jeffrey Herlings and Glenn Coldenhoff along with Calvin Vlaanderen – took the final podium position.

There were other memorable moments including superb performances by Team Great Britain’s Tommy Searle and Ben Watson, Hunter Lawrence’s efforts in dragging Australia into podium contention and the domination of the Dutch as the races were controlled by Herlings and Coldenhoff. However, even that wasn’t enough to prevent France from extending their incredible run of success at the MXoN to five straight seasons.


Team Manager: Pascal Finot
Riders: Gautier Paulin, Romain Febvre, Christophe Charlier


The 2017 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations presented by FIAT Professional took place at one of the best circuits in the world, with the scenic setting of Matterley Basin in the UK welcoming almost forty countries to the 71st edition of this famous team event. The undulating and quick layout close to Winchester had been updated this year with new additions and extended track length, providing a fantastic stage for over 70,000 fans to defy typically wet English weather and watch some gripping racing.

Competing nations came from as far afield as Brazil, Thailand and Iran but once again there would be a familiar name on the trophy as Team France emerged as the fastest MX country for the fourth year in a row. The trio was again led by Gautier Paulin, ably assisted by Romain Febvre and Christophe Charlier, who became just the third athlete in history to pick up gold medals at the ISDE and the MXoN in the same year. Charlier was a late addition to the team though performed his role in the MX2 class admirably, whilst Paulin has now overseen victory for the French in Latvia, France, Italy and the UK. Febvre also reached a hat-trick of achievements at the sport’s flagship annual celebration.

The holders were challenged by the Netherlands and a returning line-up of Glenn Coldenhoff, Brian Bogers, and Jeffrey Herlings, who took the runner-up spot for the second year in a row. To the delight of the raucous home fans, third place went to Team Great Britain, with double race-winner Max Anstie helping ensure a podium appearance for the Union flag for the first time in 20 years.