Great Britain

Team manager: Ron Humphrey

Riders: Robert Lambert, Daniel Bewley, Tom Brennan, Tai Woffinden

2021 FIM Speedway of Nations World Champion


Competing on home turf at Manchester’s Belle Vue Speedway and roared on by a fiercely partisan crowd, Great Britain’s quartet of Robert Lambert, Daniel Bewley, Tom Brennan and Tai Woffinden wrote their names into the history books with a famous FIM Speedway of Nations victory. 

The sensational win ended three years of MFR dominance of the event following its rebranding in 2018 and represents Great Britain’s first team World Championship title since 1989. 

Run over a two-day format, Poland cruised to a comfortable win on the Saturday with captain Bartosz Zmarzlik leading his team to a ten-point advantage over Great Britain. Home hopes, however, suffered a body blow when Woffinden crashed hard in race eighteen and was sidelined for day two with Daniel Bewley stepping in for the stricken triple World Champion. 

In a sport as dramatic as speedway it was only fitting that the Grand Final showdown on Sunday was action-packed with the Polish pairing of Zmarzlik and Maciej Janowski going toe-to-toe with Lambert and Bewley, neither of whom had been alive the last time Great Britain triumphed at the event. 

Zmarzlik won the Grand Final, but his team-mate crashed out on the opening lap and with four points for a win, three for second, two for third and nothing for last, Great Britain was back on top of the World for the first time in thirty-two years by the incredibly narrow margin of five points to four. 


FIM Speedway of Nations World Champions - 2021