The Netherlands

Team Manager: Patrice Assendelft  

Riders: Glenn Coldenhoff, Jeffrey Herlings, Calvin Vlaanderen



Team Netherlands ended five years of dominance by Team France, taking their first ever victory in the 73rd Monster Energy Motocross of Nations. Glenn Coldenhoff (KTM), Jeffrey Herlings (KTM) and Calvin Vlaanderen (Honda) were given huge backing from the local support, which included His Majesty King of the Netherlands Willem-Alexander, who took a picture with the Dutch team to mark the historic occasion.  

Despite a rainstorm that lashed the white sand of Assen, thousands were in attendance with the stands of the TT-circuit filled with loud cheers and the colours of the national flags. The atmosphere was incredible as twenty nations battled it out for the pride and glory of their home country, as well as the highly sought-after Chamberlain Trophy.  

After finishing as runner-up for the last three editions, the Dutch conquered the conditions and the pressure of racing at home - Coldenhoff with a 1-1 score for the second year running, Herlings with a 2-4 and Vlaanderen with a 10-10 to secure victory. Second overall went to Team Belgium as Jeremy Van Horebeek (Honda), Kevin Strijbos (Yamaha) and Jago Geerts (Yamaha) were consistent enough for yet another podium, and third overall was Team Great Britain with Shaun Simpson (KTM), Nathan Watson (KTM) and Adam Sterry (Kawasaki). 

As well as Coldenhoff with his 1-1 in the Open class, the other overall class winners were Team Slovenia’s Tim Gajser (Honda) with a 1-2 in the MXGP class and Team Denmark’s Thomas Kjer Olsen (KTM) with 8-8 in MX2.